Miss Dem











{August 9, 2008}   2007 Birthday Blog

9 August 2007 Birthday & Website Launch Blog

Today is my birthday. I am turning 31 in the nation’s capital, far away from the world I know and love
in Maine. With few friends around with whom I can celebrate this venture beyond 30 and into the
world of 30-something, I opted to create my own birthday present where I can finally share my worldview with my friends, both online and off. . . in a format that reflects my personal style a bit better than previous postings could showcase.

As loyal readers are aware, I started this little diatribe about a year and a half ago. What began as a humble MySpace profile rather blossomed into a quasi-daily spewing of political observations, information sharing and a general goal of connecting with folks who share my Progressive vision for
the future of this country – and of our state.

Going forward, I will be cross-posting this blog on my traditional MySpace spot until folks get accustomed to scoping out this spot instead. In recent months, I have worked diligently to upgrade the content and expand my horizons. Currently, I am in the process of interviewing some movers and shakers in the party whose contributions are felt but may not necessarily be heard. Some up and
comers are on the way as well as some folks who have been long-time activists.

As we move toward the 2008 election, Maine has a couple of high-profile races currently under way,
far outside the scope of the presidency. Rep. Tom Allen is vying for Sen. Collins seat, and by golly by the end of next year I’d like to see things get mixed up a bit with an outcome of Sen. Allen. As Tom vacates his seat in the Southern District in an effort to inspire the entire state, several venerable folks are criss-crossing the southern District in the hopes of filling his shoes.

It is my hope to bring the candidates to you in a meaningful manner while also ensuring you know how to reach the candidates so you can meet them and discuss the issues that are important to you. As such, I will continue posting information on the Congressional District race as it becomes available. Currently, I do not have a CD1 section outside of the sub-category in the blog section. That will change
as I get this site a bit more orderly in the near future. I hope to have a CD1 button at the top of the
home page in the next week or two. Under this section, I’ll post updated YouTube videos,
campaign announcements, etc.

In the interim, please be sure to visit the Events section as this already has a sizable number of
upcoming events. If you know of more that should be included, please send them directly to me at
missdem [at] missdem.com. I will post as quickly as possible.

Finally, I will do my best to keep the Action Items section up to date. As job announcements or
volunteer requests come in, I will post them here for folks to peruse. Fear not, I’ll put a brief
announcement on the front page. If something comes up in the news, as is on the page currently, that
requires attention or a response, I will post that as well. Hopefully, by providing some finite tasks,
we can work together to move our vision for Maine forward effectively.

Oh! The color… I am hardly a master web designer. Quite the contrary in fact. So, I searched and
searched for blue template pages from which to work. Alas, there were not any that satisfied my
desire for clean design, and the ‘political’ ones were all status quo. So, I decided to break out from
the mold a wee bit and embrace one of my favorite colors. On the streets, I’ve heard folks say that
brown is the new black. Well, here, it’s the new blue.

So, welcome to my new home. I am rather awestruck that so many folks have begun to actively read
this diatribe on life and politics. It’s rather inspiring in and of itself that I should be putting this on a
web site of its own. In the next week, I will be working to categorize all my archived blogs and get
them on the site. For now, all the blogs are still archived at http://www.myspace.com/mainedems.



Leave a comment

et cetera