Miss Dem











{August 9, 2008}   back to basics

Hi Friends,

After a long hiatus from writing, I have decided it is time to get back to basics. Today, I celebrate my annual personal holiday, this being my 32nd annual holiday. Each year, I take time out to reflect on life, what’s important, where I’ve been and possibly even where I’m headed. (At least where I’d like to head!) I am spending this weekend away from the hubub of Portland, relaxing in my home away from home and gearing up for this fall.

Nationally, 2008 is the year of change and that certainly has translated directly into my life. I have been in DC, come back and am running for office. In the public eye, it has been a far easier transition than in actuality. There are challenges in life we all face, challenges that build character as much as they frustrate. But this has also been one of the best years of my life.

This spring, I had the honor of meeting far more people in my neighborhood than I ever would have had I not run for office. As I wrote about my experiences, I didn’t realize people were paying attention to what I was writing. In fact, someone came up to me on Primary Day and said, “You make it sound like everyone should run for office.”

I was so moved by this simple statement. On the one hand, I was honored that this person was paying attention to what I was writing. (Yes, I am a Leo after all) But more importantly, my experiences on the campaign trail were resonating with someone on a level that inspired civic engagement. I hope the message translated to others as well because, in fact, I do believe everyone should run for office. You meet people you would not have otherwise met, you hear stories that break your heart as quickly as they lift if up. I have developed friendships and found moments I will never forget.

It’s been a remarkable experience, one that I encourage anyone who cares about their community to take on for themselves. It is humbling in a good way.

Well, the sun is peaking out just in time for my birthday and I should be spending time outdoors instead of in front of a laptop. So, I’m going to get out there and soak up the first rays in about three weeks. Best to you all; will be writing about life and politics again soon!

Cheers,

~MissDem



Leave a comment

et cetera